Sl. Name of the Faculty Educational Qualifications Specialization Designation
1 Tapas Mitra M Sc., Ph.D. Condensed Matter Theory Associate Professor
2 Koushik Nandi (HOD) M Sc., M.Tech, Ph.D. Solid State Physics Associate Professor
3 Pratip Bhattacharaya M Sc., Ph.D. Statistical Mechanics Assistant Professor
4 Ruma Ray M.Sc., Ph.D. Electronics Associate Professor
5 Biswajit Adhikary M. Sc., Ph.D. Cosmology & Particle Physics Assistant Professor
6 Anirban Biswas M.Sc., Ph.D. Electronics Assistant Professor
7 Sugata Chatterjee M.Sc., B.Ed. Condensed matter Assistant Professor
8 Atri Ghoswami M.Sc. High Energy Physics Guest Lecturer
9 Abhra Giri M.Sc., Ph.D. Condensed Matter Physics Guest Lecturer
10 Dhrubojyoti Sengupta M.Sc. Astrophysics Guest Lecturer


Research activity 2015-2018

Sl. Type of publication from the Department Number
1 Full length Paper 6
2 Completed Research Project (Major) 1
3 Ongoing Research Project Minor 1


Departmental Activities

Students’ Seminar: A Students’ Seminar was organized on 26.03.2018 on the following topics- Topic:
1.Why the method of separation of variables works in solving partial differential equations in Physics
2. How the concept of magnetic poles emerge in new formalism of teaching magnetostatics.
The speakers were Swagata Mallik for topic 1 and Kathika Das and Sayani Mitra for topic 2.

Wall magazine: Students prepare Wall magazines on various topics related to Physics.

Dr. Ruma Ray was invited to present a paper in the National Conference on Solid State Ionics (NCSSI-12) held in Birla Institute of Technology & Science (BITS), Pilani, Rajasthan in Dec, 2017.

Post Graduate PHYSICS

A student attending less than 60% of the total number of classes held shall not be allowed to appear at the concerned Semester Examinations Gurudas College is the only non-Government college affiliated to Calcutta University offering post-graduate course in Physics. This course started in the academic session 2017-18. At present, this department has six full time and two guest teachers offering their expertise in the day-to-day functioning of the department. We offer two different specializations namely Condensed Matter Physics and High Energy Physics in the final year. In the present academic session, there are 18 students in the post-graduate section.

Admission Criteria: Minimum 55% in Hons. in Physics (50% in case of SC/ST/PWD candidates).